Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

08/18/2009

Goodies: Venezuelan letters (V)

Persian Letters (Lettres persanes) is a satirical work, by Charles de Secondat, baron de Montesquieu, recounting the experiences of two Persian noblemen, Usbek and Rica, who are traveling through France. In Paris, the Persians express themselves on a wide variety of subjects, from governmental institutions to salon caricatures.

 

As this is summer time, I would like to offer some goodies on this blog with a couple of Venezuelan letters. These will be an exchange of e-mail between two Venezuelans, the first one, Manuel, residing in Venezuela and the second one, Jose, travelling in Europe.

 

Read first letter

Read second letter

Read third letter

Read fourth letter

 

 

From: Manuel

To: Jose

Sent: Monday, August 17, 2009 11:55 PM

Subject: Auditors

 

Dear Jose,

 

The Luxembourg audit system seems very good.

 

As the auditee – the client – pays for the audit, he/she must have a say on the evolution of the Luxembourg audit framework and on the external auditors’ duties.

 

Is it difficult to be an auditor in Luxembourg?

 

Cheers.

 

Jose

 

 

From: Jose

To: Manuel

Sent: Tuesday, August 18, 2009 6:50 AM

Subject: RE: Auditors

 

Dear Manuel

 

You will not believe it. I am now auditor in Luxembourg. It is funny, they call me a commissaire (comisario), although I am not with the police.

 

I met a professional in a cabaret close to the station last week.

 

I was invited the day before yesterday to play the golf by this nice man who is working for a law firm that was looking for an auditor for a société anonyme (Joint Stock Company) to be registered in Luxembourg whose shareholders are located in Tortola (BVI), Jersey and Singapore. He whispered that it was very secret and anonymous and confidential    .

 

He asked me if I would be interested to be the commissaire (statutory auditor) of that company.

 

I told him that I left school when I was fifteen and that I neither studied law nor accounting.

 

He replied that it does not matter as the law of 1915 on commercial companies does not require any qualification to be a statutory auditor.

 

The audit in itself  is not a difficult job: the audit report will be prepared based on a template. I will only have to put my signature and cash some money

 

I was asked as well to create a company in Luxembourg. The law firm will provide me the money. The appointment is tomorrow at the notary’s office.

 

Authorities here are business friendly as the business comunity decides simultaneously on the legislation and the regulation to be enforced and the ultimate controls. There are many statutory auditors and shareholders like me. Ningún problema, as we say at home.

 

Cheers

 

Jose

 

 

 

07:37 Posted in Luxembourg | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.