By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.


Anti-money laundering: Commission takes measures against 15 Member States for non timely implementation

The European Commission has decided to pursue infringement procedures against 15 Member States for failure to implement the Third Anti-Money Laundering Directive in national law. The Commission will send formal requests to Belgium, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden and Slovakia. These formal requests take the form of "reasoned opinions", the second stage of the infringement procedure laid down in Article 226 of the EC Treaty. If there is no satisfactory reply within two months, the Commission may refer the matter to the European Court of Justice. The Directive should have been implemented by 15 December 2007.

Know more

07:02 Posted in General | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.